Various Artists – You Talk Too Much – The Ric & Ron Story Volume 1


In stock


Track List

  1. Go To The Mardi Gras – Professor Longhair
  2. I Won’t Cry – Johnny Adams
  3. Tell It Like It Is – Eddie Bo
  4. You Done Me Wrong – Al Johnson
  5. Don’t Lie To Me – Mercy Baby
  6. Let’s Get It – Edgar Blachard
  7. Come On – Johnny Adams
  8. Tottles – Lenny Capello & The Dots
  9. Cuttin’ Out (Hey Now Baby) – Professor Longhair
  10. I Love You Still – Joe Jones
  11. Easy Rockin’ – Eddie Lang
  12. You Got Your Mojo Working – Eddie Bo
  13. Rocket To The Moon – Chris Kenner
  14. She’s Mine, All Mine – Eddie Lang
  15. You Call Everybody Darling – The Gondoliers
  16. All Nite Long Pts 1 & 2 – Robert Parker
  17. Don’t Mess With My Man – Irma Thomas
  18. Let’s Try and Talk It Over – Tommy Ridgley
  19. Nobody Knows (How I Feel About You) – Martha Carter
  20. Carnival Time – Al Johnson
  21. I May Be Wrong – Irma Thomas
  22. You Talk Too Much – Joe Jones
  23. Tipitina (Demo) – Professor Longhair
  24. I Won’t Cry (Demo) – Johnny Adams

Reviewed in OffBeat

Jeff Hannusch (September 2014 Issue)

With a formidable roster that included Professor Longhair, Johnny Adams, Irma Thomas, Chris Kenner, Robert Parker, Tommy Ridgley, Al Johnson and Eddie Bo, among others, the Ric and Ron labels were an important force in the New Orleans record business between 1958 and 1962.

The festive Ric and Ron sound was unique, even when compared to Imperial, Minit, Ace, AFO and Frisco—other “local” R&B labels active at the time. This was largely due to the label’s founder, Joe Ruffino, a veteran local record man who strove to create a label (labels) that stood out from the competition.

Largely, he was successful, as this 24-track set confirms. A perusal of the titles here is like checking out the playlist of a ‘60s-era Ninth Ward jukebox. Fess’ “Go to the Mardi Gras,” Adams’ “I Won’t Cry,” Johnson’s “Carnival Time” and Thomas’ “Don’t Mess with My Man” are all familiar to listeners with an ear for New Orleans R&B. Bo is well represented with two Ric nuggets—”Tell It like It Is” and ‘You Got Your Mojo Working on Me.” Ridgley’s lone track, the driving “Let’s Try and Talk It Over,” and Kenner’s clever “Rocket To the Moon,” are also two of the highlights. Interestingly, the title track—and the lone national chart record included here—Joe Jones’ notorious “You Talk Too Much,” is perhaps the weakest track included.

Clearly, it sold because of its novelty lyrics and not for its uninspired accompaniment. The surprise track here is an unissued Longhair rendering of “Tipitina” from 1959, which, not surprisingly, is excellent. An important and most enjoyable release. It’s great to have this music available back in circulation again.

Can’t wait for Volume II and can only hope for a Volume III.

Additional information

Weight 5.5 oz
Dimensions 5.0 x 5.5 x .5 in
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required