Al Green – The Belle Album


In stock

SKU: 76798111392 Categories: , , , Tags: ,


Release Date: 1977 – 2009

Label: Fat Possum


Track List

  1. Belle
  2. Loving You
  3. Feels Like Summer
  4. Georgia Boy
  5. I Feel Good
  6. All N All
  7. Chariots Of Fire
  8. Dream



Al Green severed his ties with longtime producer Willie Mitchell in 1977, establishing his own backup band and seizing the production reins. But he hadn’t yet made the final break with soul; this was the last secular work he would make for many years, and it was brilliant, even though it didn’t come close to equaling his previous commercial heights. In retrospect, many just didn’t understand where he was going, while others were turned off by the blurred lyrical focus of songs like “Belle.” But “I Feel Good” had as much danceable energy and soulful fire as any Green up-tempo tune, and “Lovin’ You” and “Dream” were sorely underrated compositions.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required