Alastair Greene – The New World Blues


In stock


Release Date: 2020

Label: Whiskey Bayou Records


Track List

  1. Living Today
  2. Lies And Fear
  3. Bayou Mile
  4. When You Don’t Know What To Do
  5. No Longer Amused
  6. Back At The Poor House
  7. Find Your Way Back Home
  8. Heroes
  9. Wontcha Tell Me
  10. Alone And Confused
  11. The New World Blues



  • Alastair Greene – guitar, lead vocals
  • Tab Benoit – drums, harmony vocals
  • Corey Duplechin – bass, harmony vocals



Blues/rocker Alastair Greene turns in a remarkable all-around performance on his new album The New World Blues. The platter came out  on Grammy-nominated blues guitar star Tab Benoit’s Whiskey Bayou Records and paints a vivid musical picture of Greene as a guitarist, songwriter, and vocalist. Greene trekked to Houma, Louisiana to record with Benoit, who produced these sessions, played drums, sang harmonies, and co-wrote some of the 11 new original tracks presented here. The vibe and material on The New World Blues are both focused on the sound of master musicians practicing their craft together with few distractions. “This is definitely the most stripped down blues-based album I’ve ever made,” says Greene, “The vast majority of this record is live in the studio with very few overdubs and many were first or second takes.”

Greene composed a diverse and soulful batch of songs for The New World Blues that draw their strength from a deep well of rock, funk, and blues influences. He is a skilled, articulate songwriter with vocal and guitar talents to match. He comes by his rock style honestly, having done eight years of international touring on guitar and vocals with the Alan Parsons Project and major dates with Starship featuring Mickey Thomas. His blues work has landed him on tour with Sugar Rayford’s Blues-Music-Award-nominated band and in featured slots at the Big Blues Bender and the Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise. He tips his hat to rock players like Gary Moore and Peter Green on some cuts, deploys his sweet slide technique on others, drops funky grooves, and also captures the swampy feel of the Cajun world. Benoit and bass player Corey Duplechin come together to form a solid and authentic Louisiana rhythm section that does a superb job of supporting Greene through all his twists and turns and provides his songs with a proper backbone.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required