Albert Nicholas-Art Hodes Quartet – The New Orleans-Chicago Connection


In stock


Release Date:  1997

Label:  Delmark Records


Track List

1 Digga Digga Do 3:13
2 Winin’ Boy Blues 2:47
3 Song Of The Wanderer 3:43
4 Ain’t Misbehavin’ 4:40
5 Blues My Naughty Sweetie Gave To Me 3:10
6 Anah’s Blues 3:44
7 Lover Come Back To Me 2:36
8 Etta 2:51
9 I’m Comin’ Virginia 2:59
10 Rose Room 3:08
11 Nick Warms Up 0:12
12 Rose Room (Alternate) 3:12
13 I’m Comin’ Virginia (Alternate) 2:57
14 Lover Come Back To Me (Alternate) 2:40
15 Winin’ Boy Blues (Alternate) 2:50
16 Digga Digga Do (Alternate) 3:09
17 Careless Love 3:48
18 Song Of The Wanderer (Alternate) 2:47
19 Ain’t Misbehavin’ (Alternate) 5:00
20 Blues My Naughty Sweetie Gave To Me (Alternate) 3:15
21 Etta (Alternate) 2:27



  • Albert Nicholas – clarinet
  • Art Hodes – piano
  • Earl Murphey – bass
  • Fred Kohlman – drums



Legendary pianist Art Hodes was on the jazz scene since the late 20s, working with such stalwarts as Sidney Bechet, Frank Teschemaker, George Brunis and many more. Over the decades he recorded for numerous labels including many successful sides with clarinetist Albert Nicholas for Blue Note in the ’40s. Nicholas played with King Oliver and Jelly Roll Morton in the late ’20s, Louis Armstrong and Chick Webb in the ’30s, and was a major figure in the traditional jazz revival in New York in the ’40s. This 1959 session also features the rhythm section of Earl Murphy on bass and Fred Kohlman on drums.



You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required