Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers – Just Coolin’


In stock


Release Date: 2020

Label: Blue Note

Track List

  1. Hipsippy Blues
  2. Close Your Eyes
  3. Jimerick
  4. Quick Trick
  5. M&M
  6. Just Coolin’



  1. Art Blakey – drums
  2. Lee Morgan – trumpet
  3. Hank Mobley – tenor sax
  4. Bobby Timmons – piano
  5. Jymie Merritt – bass



Archive release. A never-before-released studio album by Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers recorded at Rudy Van Gelder’s Hackensack, New Jersey studio on March 8, 1959, and featuring the legendary drummer – whose centennial is being celebrated this year – along with trumpeter Lee Morgan, tenor saxophonist Hank Mobley, pianist Bobby Timmons, and bassist Jymie Merritt. The six-song set includes two previously unissued compositions: ‘Quick Trick’ and ‘Jimerick’.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required