Billie & DeDe Pierce – Gulf Coast Blues


In stock


Release Date:  2000

Label:  Arhoolie Records


Track List

1 Eh La Bas
2 Gulf Coast Blues
3 Some Of These Days
4 You Can Depend On Me
5 The Peanut Vendor
6 Jelly Roll
7 Mama Don’t Allow
8 Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
9 Going Back To Florida
10 Panama
11 St. James Infirmary
12 John Henry
13 Get A Working Man
14 Panama Rag
15 In The Racket



  • Billie Pierce – vocals, piano
  • DeDe Pierce – vocals, trumpet
  • Lucius Bridges – tom tom track 7
  • Brother Randolph – washboard tracks 1,3,5,6,7,10,12



Trumpeter and vocalist De De Pierce (born Joseph De Lacroix Pierce) and pianist/vocalist Billie Pierce (born Wilhelmina Goodson) performed traditional jazz and ragtime music in New Orleans from the 1920s until their passing in the early 1970s. Although De De’s illness and eventual blindness sidelined their careers in the mid-1950s, the renewed interest in traditional jazz by the 1960s—and their joining the Preservation Hall Jazz Band—turned things around for them. This album, recorded in 1959, features a re-recording of one of De De’s earlier hit recordings, “The Peanut Vendor.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required