Billie Holiday – At Storyville (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 711574702824 Categories: , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2014

Label:  Black Lion Records


Track List

Side A

1. Introduction
2. I Cover the Waterfront
3. Too Marvelous for Words
4. I Loves You, Porgy
5. Them There Eyes
6. Willow, Weep for Me
7. I Only Have Eyes for You
8. You Go to My Head

Side B

1. He’s Funny That Way
2. Billie’s Blues
3. Miss Brown to You
4. Lover, Come Back to Me
5. Ain’t Nobody’s Business If I Do
6. You’re Driving Me Crazy



Bass – Jimmy Woode (tracks: A2 to A8), John Fields (tracks: B1 to B6)
Drums – Marquis Foster (tracks: B1 to B6), Peter Littman (tracks: A2 to A8)
Piano – Buster Harding (tracks: B1 to B6), Carl Drinkard (tracks: A2 to A8)
Tenor Saxophone – Stan Getz (tracks: B4 to B6)
Vocals – Billie Holiday



Billie Holiday At Storyville on 180-gram LP from ORG Music

Rich, relaxed, intimate: Holiday delves into deep vocal timbre on rare collection recorded at Boston Club during performances from 1951 and 1953

Mastered at Bernie Grundman Studios by Chris Bellman and pressed at Pallas

EQ notes and curation performed by iconic engineer Steve Hoffman; LPs EQ’d and set up by Bernie Grundman

Conceived, designed, and manufactured for collectors and enthusiasts: Vinyl jacket features exclusive art

If the world could hear every single recording ever made by one vocalist, picking Billie Holiday to make such a fantasy come true would be a stellar choice. For evidence, consider the extremely sought-after At Storyville, a collection assembled from the iconic singer’s 1951 and 1953 performances at the Boston nightclub. Holiday sinks into each song with unfettered emotion, her relaxed approach drawing out myriad shades and expressiveness, her command of tempo and feeling simply extraordinary. She’s backed on several songs by Stan Getz, yet her seductive delivery and intimate, deep timbre needn’t any help. This is one for the ages.

Originally released by the U.K. label Black Lion, an imprint that specialized in resurrecting rare gems from U.S. jazz and blues legends, At Storyville stands as a characteristic example of Holiday’s bold live presence and a can’t-miss opportunity for collectors and enthusiasts to get closer to the woman and her music. Orchestrated by ORG, this historical reissue is afforded the ultimate in audiophile production standards, resulting in sonics and presentation befitting the museum-like worth of this record’s existence.

Mastered from the original master tapes at Bernie Grundman Studios by Chris Bellman and pressed at Pallas, the 180-gram LP was curated by legendary engineer Steve Hoffman and eq’d by Grundman himself. A better team you cannot find; every step involved serious quality-control measures to guarantee gorgeous sound. The superb vinyl jacket features exclusive artwork. Indeed, this is what being a collector is all about.

Sure, the title may not be as widely known as some of Holiday’s other works, but this reissue preserves vital music that will be enjoyed by generations to come. Consider it a buried treasure that, miraculously, has resurfaced in better condition than that when it was originally made.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required