Boogaloo Ames – Going Down Slow (CD)


Out of stock

SKU: 79958209432 Categories: , , Tags: ,


Release Date: 2023

Label: Wolf Records


Track List

  1. Going Down Slow
  2. Pinetop’s Boogie Woogie
  3. Early In The Mornin’
  4. After Hours
  5. Everyday I Have The Blues
  6. Caldonia
  7. What’d I Say
  8. Route 66
  9. Further On Up The Road
  10. Let The Good Times Roll
  11. Straighten Up And Fly Right
  12. Kiddio



Boogaloo Ames is a famous Blues – Jazz – Boogie Woogie piano player from Greenville MS. He was born 1918, in the 40´s, he had his own band where he played in the Detroit area and he also played with Nat King Cole and Erroll Garner.

In the 60´s he was Session-musician for the Motoron-Label. In the 70´s he played for the wealthy class in the Mississippi Area and played at different blues festivals like the Chicago Blues Festival.

He worked together with Mulgrew Miller and Eden Brent, other piano players, with them he toured to New York and Washington DC. Matt Block recorded Boogaloo 1997 in Greenville MS, where he recorded the songs Going Down Slow, Early In The Morning, Route 66 an 9 other great songs. 2 songs has already been published on the Wolf CD “The Story Of Piano Blues” – 120.106

He also received some Awards, like the Greenville Arts council Lifetime Achievement. Boogaloo was one of the greatest Delta Blues piano players and this is his first CD recording ever!

A big thank you to Jim O’Neal, known as co-founder of the Living Blues Magazine for giving us Pictures of Boogaloo Ames from his collection. The CD is a must have for every traditional blues fan.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required