Buddy Guy & Junior Wells – Alone & Acoustic (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 014551480211 Categories: , Tags: , ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2011

Label:  Alligator Records


Track List

Side A

A1. Give Me My Coat And Shoes 3:15
A2. Big Boat 5:13
A3. Sweet Black Girl 3:34
A4. Diggin’ My Potatoes 4:28
A5. Don’t Leave Me 3:42
A6. Rollin’ And Tumblin’ 4:33
A7. I’m In The Mood 3:22

Side B

B1. High Heel Sneakers 4:55
B2. Wrong Doing Woman 2:58
B3. Cut You Loose 4:39
B4. Sally Mae 2:30
B5. Catfish Blues 3:34
B6. My Home’s In The Delta 3:05
B7. Boogie Chillen 3:59
Medley: (5:43)
B8a. Baby What You Want Me To Do
B8b. That’s Allright



Guitar [6-String Guitar], Twelve-String Guitar [12-String Guitar] – Buddy Guy
Harmonica – Junior Wells
Vocals – Buddy Guy (tracks: A1, A3, A5, A7, B1, B3, B4, B7, B8), Junior Wells (tracks: A2, A4, A6, B1 to B3, B5, B6, B8a, B8b)



Recorded in the midst of a 1981 European tour, Guy and Wells took a break from their backing musicians and amps to cut this spontaneous, all-acoustic set.

One of the best duos in the history of the blues, guitarist Buddy Guy and harmonica player Junior Wells made several recordings together over the decades, but this one is unique in their discography. The results stand in stark contrast to the hot-and-heavy Chicago blues the duo is known for. Instead, 1981’s Alone & Acoustic is relaxed and personal, with an intimate, back-porch feel. Guy switches between six- and 12-string guitars, and lays down rootsy acoustic rhythms for Wells’ keening harmonica lines. The two share vocal duties, spinning through a handful of originals, songs by John Lee Hooker and Muddy Waters, as well as some nods to traditional tunes. In fact, the performances here pay homage to the rural, country-blues roots these modern bluesmen share.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required