Buddy Moss – Oh Lordy Mama: The Buddy Moss Collection 1930-41 (2CD)


In stock

SKU: 82404634552 Categories: , , Tags: ,


Release Date: 2023

Label: Acrobat Music


Track List

Disc: 1

  • I’m On My Way Down Home
  • Cold Country Blues
  • When I’m Dead And Gone
  • Prowling Woman
  • T.B.’s Killing Me
  • Hard Times Blues
  • Decatur Street
  • Bye Bye Mama
  • Jealous Hearted Man
  • Daddy Don’t Care
  • Red River Blues
  • Prowlin’ Gambler Blues
  • Can’t Use You No More
  • B and O Blues No. 2
  • Best Gal
  • Somebody Keeps Calling Me
  • Married Man’s Blues
  • Restless Night Blues
  • Broke Down Engine
  • New Lovin’ Blues
  • Unkind Woman
  • When The Hearse Roll Me From My Door
  • Insane Blues
  • Oh Lordy Mama

Disc: 2

  • Misery Man Blues
  • Stinging Bull Nettle
  • Love Me, Baby, Love Me
  • Dough Rolling Papa
  • Some Lonesome Day
  • Evil Hearted Woman
  • Sleepless Night
  • Someday Baby (I’ll Have Mine)
  • Shake It All Night Long
  • Going To Your Funeral In A Vee Eight Ford
  • See What You Done Done
  • You Got To Give Me Some Of It
  • Your Hard Head Will Bring You Some Sorrow Some Day
  • Stop Hanging Around
  • My Baby Won’t Pay Me No Mind
  • Worrysome Woman
  • Undertaker Blues
  • Tricks Ain’t Walking No More
  • Gravy Server
  • Joy Rag
  • Unfinished Business
  • You Need A Woman
  • I’m Sittin’ Here Tonight
  • Little Angel Blues
  • Struggle Buggie



Eugene “Buddy” Moss, one of 12 children of a family of sharecroppers, was a blues singer guitarist and harmonica player from Georgia, and was one of what became known as the Piedmont school of bluesmen alongside Blind Blake, Josh White, Blind Boy Fuller and Barbecue Bob. Making his first recordings in 1930, when he was 16, with Curley Weaver and Barbecue Bob in the Georgia Cotton Pickers, he was particularly active during the mid-30s before being jailed for several years – when released in 1941, he recorded again, sometimes with fellow Piedmont stars Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee, before the wartime shellac shortages and the 1942 AFM recording ban curtailed his activities. This 49-track 2-CD set comprises selected A & B sides from his releases during this era on the Columbia, Banner, Melotone, Vocalion, Perfect, ARC and Okeh labels, including recordings as a member of The Georgia Cotton Pickers and Georgia Browns, and with Pinewood Tom (aka Josh White). It features performances with Curley Weaver, Barbecue Bob, Fred McMullen, Josh White, Brownie McGhee and Sonny Terry. Although his style was shaped by his early exposure to local blues players, he was a highly individual performer who wrote most of his own songs, and this is collection offers an entertaining showcase for those talents.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required