C.C. Adcock – Lafayette Marquis (Out-Of-Print CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2006

Label: Yep Roc Records


Track List

  1. Y’all’d Think She’d Be Good 2 Me
  2. Stealin’ All Day
  3. All 4 The Betta
  4. Blaksnak Bite
  5. Runaway Life
  6. Loaded Gun
  7. Love N’ Gold
  8. Slangshotz N’ Boom-R-Angz
  9. I Love You
  10. Between The Lies



Slim Harpo, Dr. John the Night Tripper, Tony Joe White … one can’t help but flash on those illustrious practitioners of swamp music, be it blues, rock, or pop, when listening to CC Adcock’s latest effort. As with all of the above, Layayette, Louisiana’s Adcock makes music that’s dense, damp, and malodorous as a Baton Rouge bog. What’s so welcome about Lafayette Marquis it that it arrives decades after the heyday of the Excello sound and the rock & roll offspring it inspired, and long after the genre needed a shot in the arm. From the rhythmic opener “Y’all’d Think She’d Be Good 2 Me” through the voodoo creep “Slanoshotz N’ Boom-R-Angz” and the gently rolling closer “Between the Lies,” Adcock is at home with swamp sounds as a bayou trapper. It helps that he has the connections and inclination to enlist a few savvy vets to help out, including the late producer Jack Nitzsche (the reverberating “Stealin’ All Day” is the last track he helmed), but it’s pretty clear that Adcock is right at home with these grooves.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required