Charles Mingus ‎– Mingus Ah Um (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 8436028696819 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2009

Label:  Jazz Wax Records

180 gram pressing
Direct Metal Mastering (DMM)
Pure virgin vinyl

Originally released in 1959


Track List

Side A

  1. Better Git It In Your Soul
  2. Goodbye Pork Pie Hat
  3. Boogie Stop Shuffle
  4. Self-Portrait In Three Colors
  5. Open Letter To Duke

Side B

  1. Bird Calls
  2. Fables Of Faubus
  3. Pussy Cat Dues
  4. Jelly Roll



Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone – Curtis Porter (AKA Shafi Hadi)
Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Clarinet – John Handy
Bass, Leader, Composed By – Charles Mingus
Drums – Dannie Richmond
Liner Notes – Diane Dorr-Dorynek, Leonard Feather
Piano – Horace Parlan
Producer – Teo Macero
Tenor Saxophone – Booker Ervin
Trombone – Jimmy Knepper, Willie Dennis

Recorded New York, May 5 & May 12 1959.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required