Charlie Halloran – Alcoa Sessions (CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2022

Label: Independent


Track List

  1. When I Was A Little Child
  2. Everybody’s Wailing
  3. Alma Llanera
  4. Margarita Rosa
  5. I Used To Love You
  6. Twins
  7. Miranda
  8. Moune a Ou Ce Moune a Ou
  9. Feeling Good
  10. Me Granny
  11. Goodnight
  12. Song Of The Islands



  • Charlie Halloran – trombone, vocals
  • Jonathan Doyle – sax, clarinet
  • Mike Davis – trumpet
  • Tomas Majcherski – sax, vocals

Personnel  (Tropicalia)

  • Doug Garrison – drums
  • Cesar Bacaro – percussion
  • Pete Olynciw – bass
  • John Maestas – guitar
  • Larry Sieberth – piano
  • Dede Saint Prix – vocals
  • Drew Gonsalves – vocals



Trombonist Charlie Halloran’s fifth album imagines the musical experience aboard cruises run by the Alcoa Steamship Co. out of New Orleans from 1949-1959. Pulling from dance band repertoire of Mid Century New Orleans, Trinidad, Venezuela and Guadeloupe, the Alcoa Sessions presents a band in the style of Paul Barbarin or Dave Bartholomew, augmented by Cuban percussion, French Creole and calypso vocals, fully leaning into the Crescent City’s placement as the northernmost city in the Caribbean.





You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required