Chocolate Milk – Chocolate Milk (Expanded Edition)


In stock

SKU: 81073602041 Categories: , , , Tag:


Release Date: 2017

Label: Funky Town Grooves


Track List

  1. Never Ever Do Without You
  2. How About Love
  3. Spread A Little Love
  4. You’ve Got Your Spell On Me
  5. Let Music Take Your Mind
  6. Crazy About You
  7. Party Happy
  8. Running Away
  9. Pluck It
  10. Grand Theft (7″)
  11. Girl Calling (7″)
  12. Say Wont’cha (7″)



Digitally remastered and expanded edition. With influences ranging from the Meters to Kool & the Gang, New Orleans’ Chocolate Milk let the funk flow on their self-titled sophomore album of 1976. No in-depth discussion of the history of African-American music would be complete without some mention of New Orleans, which was not only the birthplace of jazz, it was also an important city for soul, funk, zydeco and the blues. The Crescent City had a rich R&B scene in the 1950s and 1960s, boasting expressive artists like Professor Longhair, Fats Domino, Dr. John, Irma Thomas, the Meters, Ernie K-Doe, Lee Dorsey, Chris Kenner, the Neville Brothers and Aaron Neville. So when New Orleans-based funksters Chocolate Milk came together in 1974, they had an incredibly rich heritage to draw upon. But as this reissue demonstrates, Chocolate Milk brought something unorthodox to New Orleans’ R&B scene and they never went out of their way to emulate their Crescent City peers. FunkyTownGrooves’ expanded edition of Chocolate Milk offers three bonus tracks: the 7″ single versions of ‘Girl Callin'”, “Say Won’tCha” and “Grand Theft,” all of which are energetic funk grooves.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required