Clifford Brown – 13 Classic Albums: 1954-1960 (13 Original Albums On 6 CDS)


Out of stock

SKU: 823564644523 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  2014

Label:  Enlightenment


Track List

Disc 1

  • Minority
  • Salute To The Bandbox
  • Strictly Romantic
  • Baby
  • Come Rain Or Come Shine
  • I Can Dream, Can’t I
  • Blue And Brown
  • The Song Is You
  • You’re A Lucky Guy
  • It Might As Well Be Spring
  • Sweet Clifford
  • I Don’t Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You
  • Stompin’ At The Savoy
  • I’ll String Along With You
  • Mildama
  • Darn That Dream
  • I Get A Kick Out Of You

Disc 2

  • What Is This Thing Called Love
  • Darn That Dream
  • My Funny Valentine / Don’t Worry ’bout Me / Bess, You Is My Woman Now / It Might As Well Be Spring
  • Delilah
  • Parisian Thoroughfare
  • Daahoud
  • Joy Spring
  • Jordu
  • The Blues Walk
  • What Am I Here For

Disc 3

  • Cherokee
  • Jacqui
  • Swingin’
  • Land’s End
  • George’s Dilemma
  • Sandu
  • Gerkin For Perkin
  • If I Love Again
  • Take The A Train
  • Yesterdays
  • Laura
  • What’s New
  • Blue Moon
  • Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man
  • Embraceable You
  • Willow Weep For Me
  • Memories Of You
  • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • Portrait Of Jenny
  • Where Or When
  • Stardust

Disc 4

  • All God’s Chillum Got Rhythm
  • Tenderly
  • Sunset Eyes
  • Clifford’s Axe
  • Hymn Of The Orient
  • Easy Living
  • Minor Mood
  • Cherokee
  • Wail Bait
  • Brownie Speaks
  • De-Dah
  • Cookin’
  • You Go To My Head
  • Carving The Rock
  • Brownie Eyes
  • Bellarosa

Disc 5

  • Stockholm Sweetnin’
  • Scuse These Blues
  • Falling In Love With Love
  • Lover Come Back To Me
  • Philly J J
  • Dial B For Beauty
  • Theme Of No Repeat
  • Choose Now
  • Caravan
  • Autumn In New York

Disc 6

  • What Is This Thing Called Love
  • Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
  • I’ll Remember April
  • Step Lightly
  • Powell’s Prances
  • Time
  • The Scene Is Clean
  • Daahoud
  • Finders Keepers
  • Joy Spring
  • Gone With The Wind
  • Bones For Jones
  • Blueberry Hill
  • Tiny Capers



Clifford Brown, born in October 1930, (aka “Brownie,”) was an American jazz trumpeter. He died at the tragically young age of 25 in a car accident leaving behind only four years worth of recordings. Nonetheless, he had a considerable influence on later jazz trumpet players, including Donald Byrd, Lee Morgan, Booker Little, and Freddie Hubbard among others. He was also a composer of note with two of his compositions, “Joy Spring” and “Daahoud”, going on to become jazz standards. Brown was born into a musical family in a progressive East-Side neighborhood of Wilmington, Delaware. In June 1950, he was seriously injured in a car accident after a successful gig. During his year-long hospitalization, Dizzy Gillespie visited the younger trumpeter and pushed him to pursue his musical career. Brown moved into playing music professionally, where he quickly became one of the most highly regarded trumpeters in jazz. He was influenced and encouraged by Fats Navarro, sharing Navarro’s virtuosic technique and brilliance of invention. His first recordings were with R&B bandleader Chris Powell, following which he performed with Tadd Dameron, J. J. Johnson, Lionel Hampton, and Art Blakey before forming his own group with Max Roach. The Clifford Brown & Max Roach Quintet was a high-water mark of the hard bop style, with nearly all members of the group contributing original songs. Brown’s trumpet was originally partnered with Harold Land’s tenor saxophone. After Land left in 1955 in order to spend more time with his wife, Sonny Rollins joined and remained a member of the group for the rest of its existence. In June 1956, Brown and Richie Powell embarked on a drive to Chicago for their next appearance. While driving at night in the rain on the Pennsylvania Turnpike, west of Bedford, Powell’s wife Nancy lost control of the car and went off the road. All three were killed in the resulting crash. Brown is buried in Mt. Zion Cemetery, in Wilmington, Delaware.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required