Dave Alvin & Jimmie Dale Gilmore – TexiCali (Vinyl 2LP)


In stock



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Yep Roc


Track List

  1. Borderland
  2. Southwest Chief
  3. Broke Down Engine
  4. Trying To Be Free
  5. Blind Owl
  6. Death Of The Last Stripper
  7. Roll Around
  8. Betty And Dupree
  9. Why I’m Walking
  10. Down The 285
  11. We’re Still Here



TexiCali, the new album from Grammy winner Dave Alvin and Grammy nominee Jimmie Dale Gilmore, continues to bridge the distance between the two troubadours’ respective home bases of California (Alvin) and Texas (Gilmore). The geographic theme reflects Alvin’s repeated journeys to record in Central Texas with Gilmore and the Austin-based backing band that has toured with the duo for the past few years. As Alvin puts it in the liner notes, those road trips informed the music they made on TexiCali. The 11 songs on this double LP also connect their shared fondness for a broad range of American music forms. Gilmore is primarily known for left-of-center country music, while Alvin’s compass points largely toward old-school blues. But there’s a lot of ground to cover beyond those foundations, and both artists also are well-known for transcending genre limitations. So it’s not surprising that they’ve spiked TexiCali with cosmic folk narratives, deep R&B grooves and even swinging reggae rhythms.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required