Doc Paulin’s Marching Band – Doc Paulin’s Marching Band


In stock


Release Date:  1982

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways Recordings


Track List

1. Bourbon Street Parade
2. Baby Face
3. Tulane Swing
4. When the Saints Go Marching In
5. Let Me Call You Sweetheart
6. Bye Bye Blackbird
7. We Shall Walk Through the Streets of the City (dirge)
8. We Shall Walk Through the Streets of the City (march)
9. Just a Little While to Stay Here
10. The Second Line
11. Panama
12. Alice Blue Gown
13. Bye Bye Blackbird



  • Ernest “Doc” Paulin – trumpet, leader
  • Philip Paulin – trumpet
  • Scott Paulin – slide trombone
  • Jeffery Herbert – valve trombone
  • Julius Schexnayder – alto sax
  • Darryl Augillard – tenor sax
  • Leon Aguilar – tenor sax
  • Rickey Paulin – snare drum
  • Aaron Paulin – bass drum
  • Dwayne Paulin – sousaphone



Recorded when Ernest “Doc” Paulin was almost seventy-four years old, this album provides a glimpse into the musical life of a New Orleans marching band. The ensemble’s blues-influenced repertoire includes traditional march tunes, spirituals, and pop standards, played with what New Orleans musicians call “lots of tone”—with overblown horns, and of course, at high volume!





You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required