Dr. John – Anutha Zone / Duke Elegant (2CD Set)


In stock


Release Date: 2014

Label: Edsel


Track List

Disc: 1  Anutha Zone

  1. Zonata
  2. Ki Ya Gris Gris
  3. Voices In My Head
  4. Hello God
  5. John Gris
  6. Party Hellfire
  7. I Don’t Wanna Know
  8. Anutha Zone
  9. I Like Ki Yoka
  10. The Olive Tree
  11. Why Come
  12. Soulful Warrior
  13. The Stroke
  14. Sweet Home New Orleans

Disc: 2  Duke Elegant

  1. On The Wrong Side Of The Railroad Tracks
  2. I’m Gonna Go Fishin’
  3. It Don’t Mean A Thing  (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
  4. Perdido
  5. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
  6. Solitude
  7. Satin Doll
  8. Mood Indigo
  9. Do Nothin’ ‘Til You Hear From Me
  10. Thing’s Ain’t What They Used To Be
  11. Caravan
  12. Flaming Sword



Digitally remastered two CD set containing a pair of albums from iconic New Orleans singer/songwriter Mac Rebennack AKA Dr. John. By the end of the ’90s, Dr John was again embracing the mysterious bubbling gumbo of his Gris-Gris era, which was music to the ears of a generation of younger British musicians such as Paul Weller, Gaz Coombes of Supergrass and Jason Pierce of Spiritualized. While Pierce is credited with producing two tracks here, the lion’s share of ANUTHA ZONE was helmed by UK producer legend John Leckie. Although much of the album was recorded in New York in 1998, six tracks were recorded at Abbey Road, with guest appearances from the UK stars above. The following year saw Dr John pay his respects to the music of Duke Ellington – like he says: ‘Doesn’t sound like these tunes were written by a hundred year-old cat, but they were. You want to know the ticket to immortality, write a bunch of tunes that people keep on singin’ and playin’

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required