Dr. John – What Goes Around (Comes Around)


In stock

SKU: 646315011920 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  2006

Label:  DBK Works


Track List

1 In The Night
2 A Quitter Never Wins
3 Danger Zone
4 Whichever Way The Wind Blows
5 Helpin’ Hand
6 What Goes Around (Comes Around)
7 Mean Cheatin’ Woman
8 Shoo Ra
9 Bald Headed
10 Woman Is The Root Of All Evil
11 Scrubbin’
12 Qualified
13 Tipitina
14 Just Like A Mirror
15 Mama Roux



The cuts here on What Goes Around Comes Around are a loose amalgam of New Orleans standards and a few originals. There’s Dr. John’s performance nugget “In the Night,” and Roy Byrd’s (aka Professor Longhair) pair of evergreens “Tipitina’s” and “Baldhead.” Dr. John’s own tunes, such as “Mama Roux,” “A Quitter Never Wins,” “What Goes Around (Comes Around),” “Woman Is the Root of All Evil,” “Shoo Ra,” are here. The truth of the matter is that while the collection may not be album-focused, the sequencing order here is far superior to other versions where these cuts have all been compiled together. The sound is fine, and the grit here is refreshing considering how slick Dr. John has been in recent years. The slippery, loose, greasy R&B feel in these cuts is creative, somewhat sinister, and full of butt-funk grooves. This early work is more than just a slew of tunes to whet the appetite; it’s a party in its own right.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required