Duke Ellington – His Classic Collaborations: 1956-1963 (8 Original Albums On 4 CDS)


Out of stock

SKU: 823564702223 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  2017

Label:  Enlightenment


Track List

Disc 1

  • Hey Baby
  • Sophisticated Lady
  • Me And You
  • Passion Flower
  • I Let A Song Go Out Of My Heart
  • It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)
  • Grievin’
  • Blue Rose
  • I’m Checking Out – Goombye
  • I Got It Bad (And That Ain’t Good)
  • Mood Indigo
  • Part I
  • Part II
  • Part III (aka ”Light”)
  • Part IV (aka ”Come Sunday”)
  • Part V (aka ”Come Sunday”)
  • Part VI (23rd Psalm)

Disc 2

  • Wabash Blues
  • Basin Street Blues
  • Beale Street Blues
  • Weary Blues
  • St. Louis Blues
  • Loveless Love
  • Royal Garden Blues
  • Duke’s Place
  • I’m Just A Lucky So And So
  • Cotton Tail
  • Mood Indigo
  • Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me
  • The Beautiful American
  • Black And Tan Fantasy
  • Drop Me Off In Harlem
  • The Mooche
  • In A Mellow Tone

Disc 3

  • Battle Royal
  • To You
  • Take The ”A” Train
  • Until I Met You
  • Wild Man
  • Segue In C
  • B D B
  • Jumpin’ At The Woodside
  • Limbo Jazz
  • Mood Indigo
  • Ray Charles’ Place
  • Wanderlust
  • You Dirty Dog
  • Self Portrait (Of The Bean)
  • The Jeep Is Jumpin’
  • The Ricitic

Disc 4

  • Money Jungle
  • Fleurette Africaine
  • Very Special
  • Warm Valley
  • Wig Wise
  • Caravan
  • Solitude
  • In A Sentimental Mood
  • Take The Coltrane
  • Big Nick
  • Stevie
  • My Little Brown Book
  • Angelica
  • The Feeling Of Jazz



Among the most legendary figures in all of jazz, pianist, arranger and bandleader Duke Ellington informed and guided the entire genre across some 60 years. With his unparalleled eloquence, charisma and inventiveness, he has been credited as instrumentally raising the status of jazz to high art while concurrently broadening its appeal. One of jazz history’s most prolific composers, having penned over 1000 pieces during his lifetime, the Duke was renowned too for nurturing the talents of many future jazz greats within his orchestras. To this end he rarely rested, even in his later years, a period during which he recorded some of his finest work, often in collaboration with other esteemed musicians. Duke Ellington kept up a consistent recording and performing schedule for the rest of his life, playing his final concert two months before his death on 24th May 1974 at the age of 75. He left behind a catalogue that has yet to be equalled, from which the selections featured on this four disc set have been drawn. Featuring eight original, remastered albums which the Duke made alongside an esteemed roll call of collaborators during the latter part of his career, this collection illustrates well why this master musician and performer continues to be held in such esteem.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required