Dwayne Dopsie & The Zydeco Hellraisers – Traveling Man


In stock


track list

1. My Baby’s On The Phone
2. I Wish You Was Mine
3. Peace of Mind
4. My Louisiana Beauty
5. Traveling Man
6. Where’d My Baby Go
7. My Name Is Hurricane
8. Thinking Of You
9. Everybody Say
10. Zydeco 2 Step


  • Dwayne Dopsie – Accordion, Vocals
  • Ronnie Sam – Washboard
  • Calvin Sam – Drugs
  • Glenn Sam – Bass
  • Chad Welling – Guitar
  • Curnis Andrus – Saxophone


In the zydeco world, the acorn doesn’t seem to fall far from the tree. Nearly every major zydeco artist from the 1970s and 1980s now has a son carrying on the tradition. The son of Rockin’ Dopsie (Alton Rubin)—and younger brother of Rockin’ Dopsie, Jr.—this is Dwayne Dopsie’s fourth release and his first on Sound of New Orleans. Like his father, Dwayne plays the accordion with exuberance and his band plays with discipline. Outstanding among band members is saxophonist Curtis Andrus (who sounds very much like the legendary John Hart, once a member of Rockin Dopsie and the Twisters), and he takes a number of solid solos. This Dopsie excels on frantic two-steps like “Peace of Mind,” “Everybody Say” and “My Louisiana Beauty.” The title track, though, is a nice slow blues, as is “Thinking of You,” both of which feature wailing accordion and punchy saxophone breaks. Dopsie does need to find some middle ground as he really only has two speeds. A nice waltz of something mid-tempoed would help this CD, even if only for variety purposes. Traveling Man is also front and back-loaded with uptempo songs that awkwardly surround the slower material. This is a good release, but with a few tweaks it could have outstanding.



Additional information

Weight 5.0 oz
Dimensions 5.5 × 5.0 × 0.5 in

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required