Evan Christopher – Remembering Song


In stock


Release Date: 2009

Label: Fremeaux


Track List

  1. The Remembering Song – Prelude
  2. The Wrath Of Grapes
  3. Way Down Yonder In New Orleans
  4. The River By The Road
  5. The Remembering Song – Interlude
  6. Mojo Blues
  7. You Gotta Treat It Gentle
  8. My Home Is In A Southern Town
  9. Serenade
  10. The Remembering Song
  11. Waltz For All Souls
  12. Dear Old Southland



  • Evan Christopher – clarinet
  • Bucky Pizzarelli – acoustic guitar
  • James Chirillo – electric guitar
  • Greg Cohen – bass



«The Remembering Song» is a hymn of love dedicated to the musical tradition of New Orleans by one of the most eminent of its current representatives, Evan Christopher. But Evan doesn’t look back on the specifics of New Orleans jazz with nostalgic memories, far from it; he summons that tradition to be part of the present. 
The presence of Bucky Pizzarelli alongside him – the man is a living legend among jazz guitarists – perfectly illustrates Evans’ point of view, and the clarinettist’s original compositions, mixed with tunes by Jelly Roll Morton or Tommy Ladnier, rewrite the history of New Orleans in the wake of Katrina: eternally young, and very much alive.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required