Freddie King – Getting Ready… (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 829421189053 Categories: , Tags: ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2022

Label:  Friday Music


Track List

Side A

  1. Same Old Blues
  2. Dust My Broom
  3. Worry My Life No More
  4. Five Long Years
  5. Key to the Highway

Side B

  1. Going Down
  2. Living on the Highway
  3. Walking by Myself
  4. Tore Down
  5. Palace of the King



Mastered by Joe Reagoso from the Original Shelter Records Tapes at Friday Music Studios

1971 was a very good year for Freddie King as he was enjoying newfound crossover fame thanks to his many years of touring, many television appearances, and making consistently great recordings like his 1971 smash Getting Ready…

This particular masterwork was produced by Leon Russell and Don Nix for Russell’s Shelter Records label, after a successful then recent run with Cotillion/Atlantic Records.

The LP kicks off with a stellar Don Nix original “Same Old Blues” followed up with the Elmore James classic “Dust My Broom,” which gives you an idea what is in store for the entire masterwork.

Featuring one of the biggest blues and rock tracks of his career, “Going Down,” this particular tune brought a massive new and younger hip audience to the artist, and would develop his career to top of his game for the rest of the seventies until his untimely passing in 1976.

The line-up of musicians is second to none with his friends like Leon Russell, Donald “Duck” Dunn from Booker T. & The M.G.’s, Claudia Lennear and Don Preston then most recently with Joe Cocker’s “Mad Dogs & Englishmen” tour, just to name a few, making this all star session one of the greatest of its time.

More great works like “Walking by Myself,” “Palace of the King” and the great Freddie King-penned “Tore Down” would find their way on to early FM underground rock radio stations, as the guitar hero’s music would find companionship on radio with folks like Eric Clapton, John Mayall, B.B. King, Johnny Winter and Canned Heat.

Friday Music is very pleased to announce the first time super limited translucent red vinyl edition Getting Ready… by Freddie King.

Mastered impeccably by Joe Reagoso (Leon Russell, B.B. King, Johnny Winter), also included is the original stunning album cover art, with the photography of Ed Caraeff, truly enhancing your Freddie King experience.

Are you ready for Freddie!!!!

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required