Herbie Nichols – The Prophetic Herbie Nichols Vol. 1 & 2 (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series) (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 602438293650 Categories: , Tags: ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2021

Label:  Blue Note


Track List

Side A

  1. The Third World
  2. Step Tempest
  3. Dance Line
  4. Blue Chopsticks
  5. Double Exposure
  6. Cro-Magnon Nights

Side B

  1. Amoeba’s Dance
  2. Crisp Day
  3. 2300 Skiddoo
  4. It Didn’t Happen
  5. Shuffle Montgomery
  6. Brass Rings



Herbie Nichols was one of the most highly original and under-recognized pianists and composers in Jazz history. Blue Note founder Alfred Lion consider him to be every bit as unique and important as Thelonious Monk, another singular talent who Lion was the first to record just a few years before he signed Nichols in 1955. Little-known during his lifetime, recognition has begun to grow in recent years for Nichols’ incredibly hip, angular compositions like “The Third World,” “2300 Skidoo,” “Step Tempest,” and “Dance Line,” each of which were miniature marvels built with their own sturdy inner logic. In May 1955, Nichols recorded two sessions with Al McKibbon on bass and Art Blakey on drums which were originally released as The Prophetic Herbie Nichols, Vol. 1 and The Prophetic Herbie Nichols, Vol. 2. The two 10” LPs are combined here onto a single 12” LP that’s presented in gatefold packaging with the two covers on the front and back with the liner notes on the inside.

This Classic Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required