Ike & Tina Turner – River Deep-Mountain High (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 0600753959367 Categories: , Tags: ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2015

Label:  Elemental Music


Track List

Side A

A1. River Deep-Mountain High 3:36
A2. I Idolize You 3:45
A3. A Love Like Yours (Don’t Come Knocking Every Day) 3:06
A4. A Fool In Love 3:11
A5. Make ’em Wait 2:20
A6. Hold On Baby 3:02

Side B

B1. I’ll Never Need More Than This 3:34
B2. Save The Last Dance For Me 3:01
B3. Oh Baby! (Things Ain’t What They Used To Be) 2:48
B4. Every Day I Have To Cry 2:39
B5. Such A Fool For You 2:48
B6. It’s Gonna Work Out Fine 3:18



Contrabass – Jimmy Bond
Drums – Earl Palmer, Hal Blaine, Jim Gordon
Electric Bass – Carol Kaye, Ray Pohlman
Electric Guitar – Barney Kessel, Don Peake, Glen Campbell
Percussion – Frank Capp, Gene Estes
Piano – Harold Battiste, Larry Knechtel, Leon Russell
Tenor Saxophone – Jim Horn, Plas Johnson
Trombone – John Ewing
Trumpet – Roy Caton



Reissue of the legendary Ike & Tina album, consisting of six tracks produced by the studio wizard Phil Spector using his famous wall of sound technique. River Deep-Mountain High was originally recorded in 1966 but released in the USA in 1969 by A&M Records. The title track was the first of five singles and a massive hit in Europe. This was easily the most complex and nuanced of Spector’s famous “wall of sound” productions, an album that’s an essential part of any comprehensive 60s music collection. Due to Spector’s perfectionism, he made Turner sing ‘River Deep’ over and over for several hours until he felt he had the perfect vocal take. According to the singer: “I must have sung that 500,000 times. I was drenched with sweat. I had to take my shirt off and stand there in my bra to sing.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required