Irma Thomas – My Heart’s In Memphis: The Songs Of Dan Penn ( Out Of Print )


In stock

SKU: 01166121632 Categories: , , , , Tag:


Release Date: 2000

Label: Rounder Records


Track List

  1. My Heart’s In Memphis
  2. Keep It Simple
  3. Not Enough Time To Change
  4. If You Want It, Come And Get It
  5. Blue In The Heart
  6. I’m Your Puppet
  7. Irma’s Song
  8. Life At The End Of The Road
  9. I Do
  10. Woman Left Lonely
  11. Hurtin’ For Certain
  12. The Joke Is On You
  13. Zero Will Power



Dan Penn is one of the great Southern soul songwriters, and Irma Thomas is one of the great soul singers, so devoting an entire album to Penn songs was a good idea. Actually, Penn didn’t so much write the material as co-write it; he composed every track with one or more co-writers, with Thomas herself getting in on the act on a couple. Four of the 13 tunes are actually interpretations of songs that have been around for a long time (such as “I’m Your Puppet” and “Woman Left Lonely”), but otherwise they were done specifically for this album. So is the result godhead? No, though it’s okay. Thomas sings very well — it’s been pretty rare that she hasn’t sung well, on anything — and has a good sense of staying within herself where a lot of singers would over-emote, as on “If You Want It, Come and Get It.” Recorded in Memphis (noted frequent Penn associate Spooner Oldham plays keyboards on several cuts), there’s a laid-back modern soul feel that gets too laid back at times and not fiery on enough occasions. It’s respectable modern soul, slicker than purists would like, but not annoyingly so. The newly written songs are alright, but again not amazing. Thomas’ vocals are the highlight, as they should be.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required