James Booker – Vol.1 At Onkel Po’s Carnegie Hall Hamburg 1976


In stock

SKU: 4049774770616 Categories: , , , , Tag:


Release Date: 2018

Label: NDR Info


Track List

  1. Roberta / Tell Me How You Feel
  2. Everyday I Have The Blues
  3. Classified
  4. One Hell Of A Nerve
  5. Keep On Gwine
  6. Rockin’ Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu
  7. Please Send Me Someone To Love
  8. All By Myself
  9. Ain’t Nobody’s Business
  10. Something You’ve Got
  11. My Bonnie
  12. Live
  13. Junco Partner
  14. Let’s Make A Better Work
  15. Lonely Avenue & Stormy Monday



  • James Booker – piano & vocals



He was one of the greatest blues musicians, who died too early: James Booker. This concert from 1976 shows Booker on one of his best performances ever. James C. Booker’s performance was exceptionally marvelous and just what blues should be all about. All the talk about his problems and the creation of legends which immediately started after his early death in 1983 (in the waiting room of a rehabilitation clinic), seemed so unimportant and irrelevant that day, just as irrelevant as the timetable of the Hamburg metro; because it does not matter if the last train has already departed (as on that particular evening) with an artist performing many of his own creations but also several blues-classics with so much devotion while being deeply rooted in the spiritual soil of this special city located between Mississippi and Lake Pontchartrain. Recorded October 27, 1976 at Onkel Pö’s Carnegie Hall, Hamburg, Germany; Recorded by NDR Hamburg. Features extended liner notes in English and German by Michael Laages. CD version includes 12-page booklet.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required