Jane Harvey Brown & The Trad. Jazz All-Stars – Live From New Orleans At The Old Mint


In stock


Release Date – 2014

Label – Independent

Track List

  1. Baby, Won’t You Please Come Home
  2. Basin Street Blues
  3. Bring The Green Backs When You Cal
  4. Darktown Strutters Ball
  5. A Good Man Is Hard To Find
  6. La Vie En Rose
  7. Somebody Stole My Gal
  8. Ballin’ The Jack
  9. Bei Mir Bist Du Schon
  10. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
  11. Frim Fram Sauce
  12. Jelly Roll
  13. Please Don’t Talk About Me
  14. Whenever You’re Lonesome



  • Guitar – Joe Cushenberry
  • Piano – Lawrence F. Colton
  • Bass – Daniel Francis Sr.
  • Vocals – Jane Harvey Brown



Jane Harvey Brown

Live from New Orleans at the Old U.S. Mint


Jane Harvey Brown puts together a veteran band to back her on a set of mostly jazz and New Orleans standards recorded in a live setting at the Old U.S. Mint. Brown belts out brassy-voiced versions of classics such as “Baby Won’t You Please Come Home” and “Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone.” Brown possesses a strong voice with a good range. She does well when she gets away from the songs everyone has heard and sung many times and does a couple lesser-known cuts, such as her playful versions of “Frim Fram Sauce” and two songs associated with the great Blue Lu Barker: “Bring the Greenbacks When You Call” and “Ballin’ the Jack.” Her band is professional and makes sure that they stay out of her way. Pianist Lawrence Cotton (who has played with everyone from Guitar Slim to traditional bands on Bourbon Street) offers great support behind her. However, the sound of this CD is a little too live. Often, the sound of the room overwhelms the instruments and makes them less focused and distinct. Brown’s voice is mostly upfront and powers the tunes more than adequately with charm.

David Kunian


Additional information

Weight 5.0 oz
Dimensions 5.0 × 5.5 × 0.5 in
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required