Jimmy Clanton – The Jimmy Clanton Collection 1957-62 (2-CD Set)


In stock

SKU: 824046338527 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date:  2021

Label:  Acrobat Music


Track List

Disc 1

1. I Trusted You
2. That’s You, Baby
3. Just A Dream
4. You Aim To Please
5. A Letter To An Angel
6. A Part Of Me
7. My Love Is Strong
8. A Ship On A Stormy Sea
9. Little Boy In Love
10. My Own True Love
11. Go, Jimmy, Go
12. I Trusted You
13. Another Sleepless Night
14. I’m Gonna Try
15. Wait
16. Come Back
17. What Am I Gonna Do?
18. If I
19. Down The Aisle
20. I Just Wanna Make Love
21. Don’t Look At Me
22. Not Like A Brother
23. Lucky In Love With You
24. Twist On, Little Girl
25. Wayward Love
26. Green Light
27. Happy Times
28. Wedding Bells
29. What Am I Living For?
30. Just A Moment
31. Because I Do

Disc 2

1. Venus In Blue Jeans
2. Highway Bound
3. Take Her Back
4. No Greater Love
5. Its All Over Now
6. Land Of Tomorrow
7. It Takes A Long, Long Time
8. Losing The One I Love
9. Angel Face
10. A Kiss To Build A Dream On
11. Jimmy’s Tune
12. That Old Feeling
13. Sleepy Time Gal
14. I’m Beginning To See The Light
15. Over The Rainbow
16. You’re An Old Smoothie
17. I’m Always Chasing Rainbows
18. I Feel Those Tears Comin’ On
19. Somebody Please Help Me
20. You’ll Never Know
21. Nothing Left For Me
22. You Better Settle Down
23. You Kissed A Fool Goodbye
24. Love Me Tonight
25. I Wanna Go Home
26. Teenage Millionaire
27. Possibility
28. Darkest Street In Town
29. Molly Darling
30. Dreams Of A Fool
31. Walk With Me



Born in Louisiana, Jimmy Clanton was a rock ‘n’ roll era teen idol, who was regarded as the pioneer of what came to be called “swamp pop”, the product of Cosimo Matassa’s legendary New Orleans studio that was also the source of Fats Domino’s hits. Coming into the pop scene in 1957 after the first wave of pioneering rock ‘n’ roll stars, as teen stars provided a slightly different and more universally acceptable strand of the new music, he had a run of hits through into the ‘60s before his music was overtaken by the British Invasion. This great-value 62-track 2-CD comprises almost all his A & B sides from this era on Johnny Vincent’s renowned Ace Records label based in Jackson, Mississippi label, and its subsidiary Vin, along with all his tracks from the albums “Just A Dream”, “Jimmy’s Blue”, “Teenage Millionaire” & “Venus In Blue Jeans”, not otherwise released on singles, plus selected tracks from his albums “Jimmy’s Happy”. It features his ten US hits from this era, including the pop No. 4 and R&B No. 1 “Just A Dream”, the pop No. 5 “Go, Jimmy, Go” and the pop No. 7 “Venus In Blue Jeans”. It’s a substantial and fairly comprehensive overview of what was the primary era of his pop career, and it’s an excellent showcase for his particular style as a teen idol and for his distinctive brand of pop.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required