Jimmy “Duck” Holmes – Gonna Get Old Someday


In stock

SKU: 89510200205 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date: 2008

Label: Big Legal Mess


Track List

  1. What’s The Matter Now
  2. Leave In The Morning
  3. Devil Blues
  4. Buddy Brown
  5. Shaggy Hound
  6. Done Broke Down
  7. Could Have Been Married
  8. Shade Tree
  9. Gonna Get Old Someday
  10. Cool Water
  11. Hurry, Hurry
  12. Hard Times



  • Jimmy “Duck” Holmes – vocals, guitar
  • Calvin Jackson – percussion
  • Bud Spires – harmonica



On his third album, and his first for Fat Possum imprint Big Legal Mess, Jimmy “Duck” Holmes goes deeper into the Bentonia, Mississippi, blues sound that Skip James pioneered and Holmes inherited. His odd tunings, use of open strings, and mournful wail recall the classic James sound to a degree, but Holmes injects enough of his own personality (and a contemporary sense of urgency) to underline the fact that his blues are not a thing of the past. GONNA GET OLD SOMEDAY makes it clear that Holmes is one of the most vital blues artists of the 21st century.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required