John Coltrane ‎– Blue Train (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2012

Label:  DOL

Originally released in 1957


Track List

Side A

  1. Blue Train
  2. Moment’s Notice

Side B

  1. Locomotion
  2. I’m Old Fashioned
  3. Lazy Bird



Jazz legend John Coltrane’s only recorded album as a leader for Blue Note, Blue Train was the turning point of his career and one of his greatest hours. Recorded between residency dates where Coltrane was playing as a sideman in Thelonious Monk’s Quartet, this September 1957 session was the ignition to a stratospheric ascension for Coltrane.

The all-star sextet featured Kenny Drew, up and comers Lee Morgan and Curtis Fuller and fellow Miles Davis Quartet band-mates Paul Chambers and Philly Joe Jones. All five performances on Blue Train (including a definitive rendition of “I’m Old Fashioned”) are filled with memorable and classic moments


  • John Coltrane (tenor sax)
  • Lee Morgan (trumpet)
  • Curtis Fuller (trombone)
  • Kenny Drew (piano)
  • Paul Chambers (bass)
  • Philly Joe Jones (drums)
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required