John Coltrane Quartet ‎– Ballads (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 8436544171180 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2019

Label:  Vinyl Lovers

180-gram pressing

Includes 2 bonus tracks


Track List

Side A

  1. Say It (Over And Over Again)
  2. You Don’t Know What Love Is
  3. Too Young To Go Steady
  4. All Or Nothing At All
  5. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye*

Side B

  1. I Wish I Knew
  2. What’s New?
  3. It’s Easy To Remember
  4. Nancy (With The Laughing Face)
  5. Greensleeves
  6. Naima*



Presented here in its entirety, the celebrated 1962 LP Ballads album (Impulse AS-32) was the last word in John Coltrane’s ballad playing and became an instant hit. One of the most revolutionary saxophonists in jazz history, Coltrane was also a superb ballad player, capable of creating a very personal and intimate sound.

This album features the leader backed by the members of his classic quartet, with McCoy Tyner on piano, JimmyGarrison on bass, and Elvin Jones on drums.


  • JOHN COLTRANE, tenor sax
  • McCOY TYNER, piano
  • ELVIN JONES, drums

Recorded in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey.

A1-A4 & B1: November 13, 1962.

B2 & B4: September 18, 1962.

B3 & B5: December 21, 1961

  • A5: John Coltrane (ss), McCoy Tyner (p), Steve Davis (b), Elvin Jones (d).
  • New York, October 26, 1960.
  • B6: John Coltrane (ts), Wynton Kelly (p), Paul Chambers (b), Jimmy Cobb (d).
  • New York, December 2, 1959.

Additional information

Weight 19.99 oz
Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required