Johnny Adams – Man Of My Word


In stock

SKU: 011661215528 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  1998

Label:  Rounder Records


Track List

1.Even Now 5:29
2.It Ain’t The Same Thing 4:12
3.This Time I’m Gone For Good 4:40
4.Going Out On My Mind Sale 4:27
5.Now You Know 4:38
6.Up And Down World 4:48
7.I Don’t Want To Know 4:11
8.Man Of My Word 4:56
9.You Don’t Miss Your Water 4:28
10.Bulldog Break His Chain 4:35
11.It Tears Me Up 3:36
12.Looking Back 5:00
13.Never Alone 4:54



  • Johnny Adams – vocals
  • Jim Spake – baritone sax, tenor sax
  • Elaine Foster – backing vocals
  • Michael Toles – guitar
  • Aaron Neville – guest vocals
  • George Porter, Jr. – bass
  • Walter “Wolfman” Washington – guitar
  • Craig Klein – trombone
  • Charles Elam III – backing vocals
  • Donnell Spencer – drums
  • Dave Torkanowsky – keyboards
  • Scott Thompson – trumpet



Judging by this, his last recording, Johnny Adams had a lot of music left in him when he died at age 67. As with all of his remarkably consistent Rounder efforts, Man of My Word is marked by conscientious song selection, expert backing, and, foremost, Adams’s absolutely commanding vocals. With producer Scott Billington back at the helm, and backed by a crack session crew led by fellow New Orleans stalwart Walter “Wolfman” Washington, Adams tackles this selection of soul tunes with characteristic verve and savvy; the man simply didn’t have it in him to sing a note carelessly. Highlights here include Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham’s Memphis-styled “It Tears Me Up,” Bobby Charles’s easy-grooving “I Don’t Want to Know,” and the gospel closer, “Never Alone.” But it’s all good. It really is.




You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required