Joseph Spence – Encore: Unheard Recordings of Bahamian Guitar and Singing (Vinyl LP)


Out of stock

SKU: 093074024218 Categories: , , Tags: ,


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2021

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways


Track List

Side A

  1. Won’t That Be a Happy Time?
  2. Out on the Rolling Sea
  3. Down By the Riverside
  4. Bimini Gal
  5. The Crow
  6. In Times Like This
  7. Death and the Woman

Side B

  1. Give Me That Old Time Religion
  2. Run Come See Jerusalem
  3. Brown Skin Girl
  4. The Glory of Love
  5. Great God What Do I See and Hear?
  6. That Glad Reunion Day



Encore is a new album produced from previously unheard archival recordings by the legendary Bahamian guitarist Joseph Spence, made in 1965 at the height of his career. Spence’s radically innovative guitar style transformed elements of Bahamian traditional music into adventurous, joyful improvisations and influenced players worldwide. His powerful singing stemmed directly from the rhyming tradition created by Bahamian sponge fishermen early in the 20th century. The music is punctuated by Spence’s unique, sometimes otherworldly vocalizations including humming, short bursts of lyrics, and near-scat singing. Some of the recordings include singing by Spence’s sister Edith Pinder and her family members Raymond and Geneva Pinder. Producer Peter K. Siegel captured these performances at Spence’s only New York concert, at the performer’s cottage in Nassau, Bahamas, and at Siegel’s apartment in Manhattan.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required