Katie Webster – The Swamp Boogie Queen


In stock

SKU: 014551476627 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date:  1988

Label:  Alligator Records


Track List

1. Who’s Making Love? 3:56
2. Sea Of Love 3:17
3. Black Satin 3:45
4. After You Get Rid Of Me 5:33
5. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song) 2:38
6. No Bread, No Meat 4:20
7. Whoo-Wee Sweet Daddy 3:20
8. Try A Little Tenderness 4:18
9. Hold On To What You Got 4:32
10. Somebody’s On Your Case 3:10
11. On The Run 6:33
12. Lord, I Wonder 4:00



  • Katie Webster – vocals, piano, organ
  • Andrew Jones – guitar
  • Russell Jackson – bass
  • Tony Coleman – drums
  • Special Guests – Robert Cray, Kim Wilson, Bonnie Raitt, The Paladins, Joe Sublett, Anson Funderburgh and the Memphis Horns’ Wayne Jackson and Andrew Love



Lovable Katie Webster had some high-profile help for this impressive comeback album — Bonnie Raitt shares the vocal on “Somebody’s on Your Case” and plays guitar on “On the Run”; Kim Wilson duets with Webster for a cover of Johnnie Taylor’s “Who’s Making Love” (a track that Robert Cray contributes crisp guitar to). Throughout, Webster’s vocals are throatier than they used to be (she soulfully covers one-time mentor Otis Redding’s “Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa [Sad Song]” and “Try a Little Tenderness”), while her driving left hand still lays down some powerhouse boogie rhythms.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required