King Floyd – Choice Cuts


In stock

SKU: 034373280424 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date:  1994

Label:  Waldoxy Records


Track List

1 Groove Me
2 I Feel Like Dynamite
3 I Really Love You
4 Think About It
5 Movin’ On Strong
6 Hard To Handle
7 What Our Love Needs
8 Trouble
9 Body English
10 Baby Let Me Kiss You
11 So True
12 Don’t Leave Me Lonely
13 Can’t Give It Up
14 Woman Don’t Go Astray
15 So Much Confusion



When Malaco released this “best-of” collection on its Waldoxy label in 1994, it had been 17 years since King Floyd’s departure from the company. After all that time, Floyd was still among the first names that came up during a discussion of Malaco’s history. Recording Floyd was certainly among Malaco’s finest accomplishments, and Choice Cuts offers considerable evidence of that fact. This 15-song CD, which spans 1970-1977, contains all of Floyd’s major hits, including “Baby Let Me Kiss You,” “Woman Don’t Go Astray,” and his signature song, “Groove Me.” Equally strong is Floyd’s cover of Otis Redding’s “Hard to Handle,” which had been a major hit for Patti Drew in 1968 and received the rock & roll treatment from the Black Crowes in 1990. Those gems are the epitome of deep-fried Southern soul — raw, tough, and unapologetically gritty. But while Southern R&B was what Floyd did best, 1976 found the singer experimenting with disco and funk elements on the sleek, danceable “Body English.” The catchy number became a dancefloor hit, but ultimately, Floyd would be best remembered for his contributions to Southern soul. For those who’ve never experienced the pleasures of King Floyd, Choice Cuts would be the best starting point.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required