Lightnin’ Hopkins – Mojo Hand: The Complete Fire Sessions (Vinyl 2LP)


In stock

SKU: 708535705222 Categories: , Tag:



Release Date:  2024

Label:  Sunset Blvd Records


Track List

Side A

  1. Mojo Hand
  2. Coffee For Mama
  3. Awful Dreams
  4. Black Mare Trot
  5. Have You Ever Loved A Woman

Side B

  1. Glory Be
  2. Sometimes She Will
  3. Shine On, Moon!
  4. Santa

Side C

  1. How Long Has The Train Been Gone
  2. Bring Me My Shotgun
  3. Shake That Thing
  4. Last Night
  5. Walk A Long Time

Side D

  1. I’m Leaving You Now
  2. Houston Bound
  3. Just Pickin’
  4. Baby I Don’t Care
  5. Mojo Hand (Live)



Limited edition – The original 1962 LP plus session bonus tracks

Lightnin’ Hopkins is widely considered one of the great popular architects of the blues style that came be known as “country blues” and which proved to be a huge influence on the future development of Rock ‘n’ Roll. “Mojo Hand” was one of Hopkins‘ signature tunes. Mixing his own style with Louisiana Creole and voodoo culture, the song ripples with an occult energy.

This album, recorded for Fire Records, is especially interesting because it casts Hopkins in a more R&B-flavored environment. This obvious effort to get a hit makes for some excellent blues; moody andpowerful performances play throughout. The Penguin Guide to Blues Recordings wrote that “Lightnin’ is focused and businesslike and delivers a strong and varied sequence of songs; the bassist and drummer are unobtrusive but very much there.”

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required