Link Wray – Rumble (1956-62) (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 824046160821 Categories: , , , Tag:



Release Date:  2023

Label:  Acrobat


Track List

Side A

  1. I Sez Baby
  2. Rumble
  3. The Swag
  4. Raw-Hide
  5. The Dixie-Doodle
  6. Comanche
  7. Slinky
  8. Ain’t That Lovin’ You Babe
  9. Mary Ann

Side B

  1. Jack the Ripper
  2. El Toro
  3. Big City After Dark
  4. Poppin’ Popeye
  5. Big City Stomp
  6. Ramble
  7. Run, Chicken, Run
  8. The Black Widow
  9. Ace of Spades



Guitarist and rockabilly singer Link Wray was one of the key cult figures in the history of rock ‘n’ roll and modern rock, having pioneered the technique of using power chords on a distorted electric guitar, most notably on his landmark hit “Rumble”, that was an essential feature of later heavy rock, punk and other styles. Pete Townshend of The Who said that: “If it hadn’t been for Link Wray and ‘Rumble’ I would have never picked up a guitar.” Of Shawnee native American parentage, he contracted tuberculosis while serving in the Korean War, losing a lung, and was told he might never sing again. However, he pursued a music career, and made rockabilly records before in 1958 recording “Rumble”, a brooding instrumental which was banned by some radio stations for fear it would incite gang violence. It proved an inspirational for just about every teenager who picked up a guitar. He had a chequered and brief recording career with major labels, frustrated by the corporate machine, and in the early ‘60s made his own records in an improvised studio. This collection comprises as many of the A & B sides of his early singles on a variety of labels as are available to include, plus the tracks from his two albums during this era not otherwise released as singles. It naturally includes “Rumble” plus his other two chart entries “Rawhide” and “Jack The Ripper”. It’s a fascinating showcase for one of rock ‘n’ roll’s true left-field heroes, an instinctive style icon and innovator.

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required