Lonnie Johnson – Blues Stay Away From Me: Selected Singles As & Bs 1947-1953 (2CD Set)


In stock


Release Date:  2018

Label:  Jasmine Records


Track List

Disc: 1
1. Tomorrow Night
2. What a Woman
3. Happy New Year, Darling
4. Friendless Blues
5. What a Real Woman
6. I Want My Baby
7. Drunk Again
8. Falling Rain Blues
9. Jelly Roll Baker
10. In Love Again
11. Pleasing You (As Long As I Live)
12. Good Night Darling
13. I Know It’s Love
14. You’re Mine You
15. Backwater Blues
16. Bewildered
17. Playing Around
18. So Tired
19. My My Baby
20. Don’t Play Bad with My Love
21. I Found a Dream
22. You Take Romance
23. She’s So Sweet
24. Confused
25. Blues Stay Away from Me
26. I’m So Afraid
27. Troubles Ain’t Nothin’ But the Blues

Disc: 2
1. I’m So Crazy for Love
2. Nothin’ Clickin’ Chicken
3. Little Rockin’ Chair
4. Nobody’s Lovin’ Me
5. When I’m Gone (Will It Still Be Me)
6. Nothing But Trouble
7. Why Should I Cry?
8. Take Me I’m Yours
9. It Was All in Vain
10. You Only Want Me When You’re Lonely
11. Darlin’
12. Seven Long Days
13. My Mothers Eyes
14. Me and My Crazy Self
15. I’m Guilty
16. Can’t Sleep Anymore
17. You Can’t Buy Love
18. Just Another Day
19. Don’t Make Me Cry Baby
20. My Woman Is Gone
21. Will You Remember
22. Stick with It Baby
23. Vaya Con Dios
24. It’s Been So Long
25. This Love of Mine
26. I Found a Dream



Lonnie Johnson is famous for his formidable and influential guitar playing, precise mellifluous vocals and his pioneering use of the electrically amplified violin. In fact so much so that another important aspect of his international fame is the fact that British guitarist and pioneer of skiffle music, Anthony James Donegan called himself Lonnie Donegan in tribute to the genius we are celebrating here. This compilation stretches from 1947 to 1953. In this era he embraces the world of R&B and enjoys several chart hits in an often very pop orientated style or indeed a much more hard-core blues mode. Johnson’s breakout hit for the King label was his version of the 1939 pop hit by Horace Heidt, written by Sam Coslow, “Tomorrow Night” This peculiar choice for a blues and jazz artist topped the R&B charts for seven weeks and made the pop top 20, selling a reputed 3 million copies. The song also made an impact on Elvis Presley who recorded it during his tenure at Sun Records as did label mate, Jerry Lee Lewis. Lavern Baker had a hit with it in 1956 and Bob Dylan featured it on his 1992 album “Good As I Been To You”.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required