Louis Armstrong – Louis Armstrong And His Friends


In stock

SKU: 029667059527 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  2014

Label:  Boplicity Records


Track List

1 We Shall Overcome 6:42
2 Everybod’s Talkin’ (Echoes) 3:01
3 What A Wonderful World 3:19
4 Boy From New Orleans 3:55
5 The Creator Has A Masterplan (Peace) 4:14
6 Give Peace A Chance 4:33
7 Mood Indigo 3:19
8 His Father Wore Long Hair 2:30
9 My One And Only Love 3:17
10 This Black Cat Has 9 Lives 2:39



Louis Armstrong’s next to last recording (his final one was a few months later singing country songs in front of a Nashville rhythm section) has its touching moments. Backed by a large orchestra, Armstrong (who was too ill to play trumpet) sings some unlikely material including “The Creator Has a Master Plan” (which also features Leon Thomas’ yodeling), “We Shall Overcome,” “Everybody’s Talkin’,” and “Give Peace a Chance.” The high points occur during “Mood Indigo,” “Boy from New Orleans” (during which Louis sums up his life story over the chords of “When the Saints Go Marching In”), and the definitive version of “What a Wonderful World.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required