Louis Armstrong – the Standard Oil Sessions: Collector’s Edition


Out of stock


Release Date:  2017

Label:  Dot Time


This limited collector’s edition includes a bonus track and a 20-page book authored by Ricky Riccardi, Director of Research Collections for the Louis Armstrong House Museum and author of best selling book “What A Wonderful World.” 

The tracks on this recording have never before been released and are derived from tapes from Louis Armstrong’s personal collection.   This description is from author Ricky Riccardi who is intimately familiar with Louis’ library of reel-to-reel tapes now housed at the Queen’s College Archive in New York (from the blog “The Wonderful World of Louis Armstrong”):

‘On January 20, 1950, Louis, Jack Teagarden and Earl “Fatha” Hines joined Clancy Hayes and some local San Francisco musicians to tape material for The Standard School Broadcast, the oldest educational radio program in America. The episode was part of the show’s “Musical Map of America” series, with Armstrong and company brought in to provide the “Music of New Orleans.”  … after the recordings were done, the Standard Oil people sent acetates of the complete, unedited Armstrong performances–including some rehearsals–to Armstrong’s home. Armstrong dubbed them to tape in December 1950, shortly after receiving his first reel-to-reel tape recorder–but that was it. They sat in the den of his Corona, Queens home for several decades until they were brought to Queens College in 1991 and they’ve sat there–until now!’


Track List

  1. Do You Know What it Means to Miss New Orleans
  2. Muskrat Ramble
  3. Basin Street Blues
  4. Struttin’ With Some Barbecue
  5. Boogie Woogie on St.Louis Blues
  6. Way Down Yonder in New Orleans
  7. Panama
  8. Up a Lazy River
  9. Back O’ Town Blues
  10. Do You Know What it Means to Miss New Orleans (1st Rehearsal Take)
  11. Do You Know What it Means to Miss New Orleans (2nd Rehearsal Take)
  12. Louis Armstrong Plays Along with “Back O’Town Blues” (BONUS TRACK)



  • Louis Armstrong – trumpet, vocals
  • Jack Teagarden – trombone, vocals
  • Earl “Fatha” Hines – piano
  • Lyle Johnson – clarinet
  • Clancy Hayes – guitar
  • Unknown – drums, percussion




Additional information

Weight 6.0 oz
Dimensions 7.0 × 0.5 × 5.5 in

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required