Louis Prima featuring Keely Smith and Sam Butera & The Witnesses – Buona Sera (4 CD Set)


Out of stock


Release Date:  2011

Label:  Proper Records


Track List

Disc One

1. I Aint Got Nobody
2. Body And Soul
3. Oh! Marie
4. Buona Sera
5. Jump, Jive An Wail
6. (Nothings Too Good) For My Baby
7. (Ill Be Glad When Youre Dead) You Rascal You
8. Basin Street Blues-When Its Sleepy Time Down South
9. Night Train
10. The Lip
11. Whistle Stop
12. Five Months, Two Weeks, Two Days
13. Banana Split For My Baby
14. Be Mine (Little Baby)
15. When Youre Smiling – The Sheik Of Araby
16. The Birth Of The Blues
17. Blow, Red, Blow
18. When The Saints Go Marching In
19. Sentimental Journey
20. Baby Wont You Please Come Home

Disc Two

1. Equator
2. Therell Be No Next Time
3. The Closer To The Bone
4. Ive Got The World On A String
5. Dont Let A Memory Break Your Heart
6. Pennies From Heaven
7. Autumn Leaves
8. The Pump Song
9. I Kiss Your Hand Madame
10. Ten Little Women
11. Love Charm
12. I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues
13. Angelina – Zooma Zooma
14. A Foggy Day
15. Dont Worry Bout Me – Im In The Mood For Love
16. Come Back To Sorrento
17. How High The Moon
18. On The Sunny Side Of The Street – Exactly Like You
19. Robin Hood – Oh Babe!
20. Its Better Than Nothing At All

Disc Three

1. Beep! Beep!
2. Good Gracious Baby
3. Embraceable You – I Got It Bad And That Aint Good
4. Greenback Dollar Bill
5. Tiger Rag – Just Because
6. Should I? – I Cant Believe That Youre In Love With Me
7. Love Of My Life (O Sole Mio)
8. The White Cliffs Of Dover
9. Too Marvellous For Words
10. Them There Eyes – Honeysuckle Rose
11. Holiday For Strings
12. Bim Bam
13. Handle With Care
14. Twinkle In Your Eye
15. Hey There
16. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
17. If You Were The Only Girl
18. Bourbon Street Blues
19. Sing, Sing, Sing
20. That Old Black Magic

Disc Four

1. Felica No Capicia
2. Judy
3. Thats My Home
4. Moonglow
5. Gotta See Baby Tonight
6. Fee Fie Foo
7. Fever
8. Oh! Marie
9. Hey Boy, Hey Girl
10. Hey Boy, Hey Girl (reprise)
11. Lazy River
12. Nothings Too Good For My Baby
13. French Poodle
14. Ive Got You Under My Skin
15. Dont Take Your Love From Me
16. Chantilly Lace
17. Easy Rockin
18. Perdido
19. Kansas City
20. Skinny Minnie



Some of Prima’s hottest years and all of his trademark songs are documented in this compilation. I personally consider this to be the golden period in Prima’s career because he and Keely had become icons in Las Vegas, Reno and Lake Tahoe. At the time they had houses in Los Angeles and Las Vegas and were kept busy in both the studio and the club circuit. The period covered in this collection spans 1956 through 1959, with most of the tracks recorded in 1957 and 1958.

Sound quality is excellent, and you can tell which tracks were recorded live in clubs just by listening to them. Prima (and Keely) were best on stage and always turned in white hot performances. They were no slouches in the studio either.

Not all tracks include the full out Prima-Smith pairing. Both are missing on some tracks where Sam Butera and the Witnesses were the sole personnel. That’s fine in my opinion because Sam’s sound was an integral part of Louis’ performances on stage and in the studio during this period.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required