Mance Lipscomb – Navasota (2CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2021

Label: Sunset BLVD Records


Track List

Disc: 1   (1972 Harvard University)

  1. Texas Blues
  2. Alabama Jubilee
  3. See See Rider
  4. I Want To Do Something For You
  5. Baby Please Don’t Go
  6. I Ain’t Got Nobody
  7. Going Down Slow
  8. Rock Me Baby
  9. Keep On Truckin’
  10. Key To The Highway
  11. You’ve Got To See Your Mama Every Night
  12. Shine On Harvest Moon
  13. All Night Long
  14. True Religion
  15. When The Saints Go Marching In

Disc: 2   (Texas ’63/’64)

  1. Night Time Is The Right Time
  2. Trouble In Mind
  3. Mama Don’t Allow
  4. Going Down Slow
  5. Careless Love
  6. Rag In F
  7. Diddy Wah Diddy
  8. Boogie Chillen
  9. Willy Poor Boy
  10. Rock Me Mama
  11. So Different Blues
  12. Blues In G
  13. The Titanic
  14. Alabama Bound
  15. Ain’t It Hard
  16. Johnny Take A One On Me
  17. One Thin Dime
  18. Motherless Children



2 CD Set / Previously Unreleased Concert Recordings. Mance Lipscomb represented one of the last remnants of the 19th century songster tradition, which predated the development of the blues. Though songsters might incorporate blues into their repertoires, as did Lipscomb, they performed a wide variety of material in diverse styles, much of it common to both black and white traditions in the South, including ballads, rags, dance pieces (breakdowns, waltzes, one and two steps, slow drags, reels, ballin’ the jack, the buzzard lope, hop scop, buck and wing, heel and toe polka), and popular, sacred, and secular songs. Lipscomb himself insisted that he was a songster, not a guitarist or “blues singer,” since he played “all kinds of music.” His eclectic repertoire has been reported to have contained 350 pieces spanning two centuries. This album represents 3 previously unreleased concert sets from ’63, ’64 and ’72.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required