Mdou Moctar ‎– Afrique Victime (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 19140116141 Categories: , , , , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2021

Label:  Matador Records



Track List

Side A

  1. Chismiten
  2. Taliat
  3. Ya Habibti
  4. Tala Tannam
  5. Untitled

Side B

  1. Asdikte Akal
  2. Layla
  3. Afrique Victime
  4. Bismilahi Atagah



Matador Records presents Afrique Victime, the long-awaited new album by Mdou Moctar. On Afrique Victime the prodigious Tuareg guitarist and songwriter rips a new hole in the sky – boldly reforging contemporary Saharan music and “rock music” by melding guitar pyrotechnics, full-blast noise, and field recordings with poetic meditations on love, religion, women’s rights inequality, and Western Africa’s exploitation at the hands of colonial powers.

Mahamadou Souleymane, known professionally as Mdou Moctar is a Tuareg songwriter and musician based in Agadez, Niger, and is one of the first musicians to perform modern electronic adaptations of Tuareg guitar music. He first became famous through a trading network of cellphones and memory cards in West Africa.

Mdou Moctar is a popular wedding performer and sings about Islam, education, love, and peace in Tamasheq.
He plays a left-handed Fender Stratocaster guitar in a takamba and assouf style.



Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required