Memphis Jug Band – Collection 1927-34 (3CD Set)


In stock

SKU: 82404691042 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date: 2020

Label: Acrobat


Track List

Disc: 1

  • Stingy Woman Blues
  • Sun Brimmers Blues
  • Memphis Jug Blues
  • Newport News Blues
  • Sunshine Blues
  • Looking For The Bully Of The Town
  • Sometimes I Think I Love You
  • Memphis Boy
  • Beale Street Mess Around
  • I’ll See You In The Spring, When The Birds Begin To Sing
  • Turpentine Blues
  • Hitch Me To Your Buggy And Drive Me Like A Mule
  • Kansas City Blues
  • State Of Tennessee Blues
  • Coal Oil Blues
  • Papa Long Blues
  • Bob Lee Junior Blues
  • I Packed My Suitcase, Started To The Train
  • Snitchin’ Gambler Blues
  • She Stays Out All Night Long
  • Peaches In The Springtime
  • Evergreen Money Blues
  • Lindberg Hop

Disc: 2

  • Sugar Pudding
  • A Black Woman Is Like A Black Snake
  • On The Road Again
  • Whitewash Station Blues
  • Stealin’, Stealin’
  • Mississippi River Waltz
  • Jug Band Waltz
  • I Can’t Stand It
  • What’s The Matter
  • K.C. Moan
  • Memphis Yo Yo Blues
  • I Whipped My Woman With A Single-Tree
  • Feed Your Friend With A Long Handled Spoon
  • I Can Beat You Plenty
  • Tired Of You Driving Me
  • Bumble Bee Blues
  • Everybody’s Talking About
  • Cave Man Blues
  • Oh Ambulance Man
  • Cocaine Habit Blues
  • It Won’t Act Right
  • Papa’s Got Your Bath Water On
  • Fourth Street Mess Around
  • He’s In The Jail House Now
  • Round And Round

Disc: 3

  • Move That Thing
  • You Got Me Rollin’
  • Going Back To Memphis
  • Spider’s Nest Blues
  • Taking Your Place
  • Aunt Caroline Dyer Blues
  • Jim Strainer Blues
  • Meningitis Blues
  • Jazzbo Stomp
  • Rukus Juice And Chittlin’
  • Tear It Down, Bed Slats And All
  • Boodie Bum Bum
  • Gator Wobble
  • My Business Ain’t Right
  • Bottle It Up And Go
  • Insane Crazy Blues
  • Memphis Shakedown
  • Mary Anna Cut Off
  • She Done Sold It Out
  • My Love Is Cold
  • Jug Band Quartette
  • Little Green Slippers
  • Take Your Finger Off It
  • Stonewall Blues



The Memphis Jug Band are generally primarily associated with the blues, but in truth they were a more broad-based musical agglomeration, whose music was designed to be danceable, humorous and out-and out entertaining. Their line-up varied across the years, but the essential jug band sound and instrumentation of guitar, jug, kazoo, harmonica, and occasional banjo, mandolin, washboard and woodblocks, remained at the core of their sound, which has provided a template for skiffle groups and modern jug bands ever since, with many of their songs also still being performed by such bands. This great-value 72-track 3-CD set comprises most of their recordings for Victor and Okeh during this era, including recordings as The Memphis Sheikhs and The Carolina Peanut Boys. It features some of those jug band classics which have passed into later bands’ repertoires, including “He’s In The Jailhouse Now”, “Move That Thing”, “On The Road Again”, and “Bottle It Up And Go”. It’s a comprehensive overview of their career, and a highly entertaining showcase for their rough-edged but finely-honed skill as entertainers.



Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required