Muggsy Spanier Group & Frank Signorelli Group – Dixieland Jazz in the Forties


In stock


Release Date:  1978 (Original)

Label:  Smithsonian Folkways Recordings


Track List

Muggsy Spanier Group

1. Since My Best Gal Turned Me Down
2. Muskogee Blues
3. Rosie
4. Take Me To The Land Of Jazz
5. I’d Climb The Highest Mountain
6. Red Hot Mama

Frank Signorelli Group

7. Memphis Blues
8. Saxophone Joe
9. Darktown Strutter’s Ball
10. Sour Puss Hannah
11. Limehouse Blues
12. Between And First Hello And The Last Good-Bye



A cornetist blowin’, a clarinetist wailin’, a trombonist mournin’, a pianist groovin’…all in a crowded, smoky parlor. The 1940s arguably marked the height of big band era, and a resurgence of Dixieland brought cornetist Muggsy Spanier and pianist Frank Signorelli back into the spotlight. They play here with “Pee Wee” Russell, Vic Dickenson, Gordon Griffin, Chauncey Morehouse and others.



You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required