Neville Brothers – Mitakuye Oyasin Oyasin / All My Relations


Out of stock


Release Date: 1996

Label: A&M Records


Track List

  1. Love Spoke Here
  2. The Sound
  3. Holy Spirit
  4. Soul To Soul
  5. Whatever You Do
  6. Saved By The Grace Of Your Love
  7. You’re Gonna Make Your Momma Cry
  8. Fire On The Mountain
  9. Ain’t No Sunshine
  10. Orisha Dance
  11. Sacred Ground



  • Aaron Neville – vocals
  • Art Neville – Keyboards, organ, vocals
  • Charles Neville – tenor & alto sax, wood flute
  • Cyril Neville – vocals, percussion
  • “Mean” Willie Green – drums
  • “Dangerous” Nick Daniels III – bass, backing vocals
  • Eric “Honey” Struthers – guitars
  • Eric “Ice” Kolb – keyboards
  • Terry Manuel – backing vocals, keyboards



The Neville Brothers have made a family affair of their first studio album in four years, writing much of the material themselves and co-producing the record with James Stroud. As a result, they are making less of an effort to secure a pop hit this time, even though they do throw in a little rap and a funky cover of Bill Withers’ “Ain’t No Sunshine.” But part of the reason they tend to be more interesting live than on record is that, beyond being well-meaning, they haven’t got much to say. Most of the songs here are homilies to brotherhood, responsibility, and environmentalism, set against tracks that evoke Brazilian music, mbaqanga, reggae, R&B, and soul and are heavy on percussion and horns. Occasionally, as on the respectable cover of the Grateful Dead’s “Fire Of The Mountain,” with guest guitarist Bob Weir, or on Aaron Neville’s typically ethereal “Saved By The Grace Of Your Love,” the music transcends both the message and the groove. But this is an album of small pleasures rather than the larger statement it seems intended to be.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required