New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers – Volume 1


In stock


Release Date: 2020

Label: Stony Plain


Track List

  1. Blues, Why You Worry Me?
  2. Pony Blues
  3. Night Time
  4. Come On Down To My House
  5. K.C. Moan
  6. Let’s Work Together
  7. Strange Land
  8. Shake It And Break It
  9. Stone Free
  10. Stop And Listen Blues



  • Charlie Musselwhite – harmonica, vocals
  • Alvin Youngblood Hart – guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Jimbo Mathus – guitar, vocals
  • Jim Dickinson – piano, vocals
  • Luther Dickinson – guitars, mandolin, bass, vocals
  • Cody Dickinson – drums, washboard, vocals
  • Chris Chew – bass
  • Paul Taylor – tub bass



The band members are, Luther Dickinson, Cody Dickinson, Jimbo Mathus, Charlie Musselwhite, Alvin Youngblood Hart and Jim Dickinson.

The New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers originated back in January 2008 when musician brothers Luther & Cody Dickinson sat down for a guitar jam with ex-Squirrel Nut Zippers leader Jimbo Mathus along with Blues Greats Charlie Musselwhite, Alvin Youngblood Hart and the late Memphis pianist, producer and all around musical stylist Jim Dickinson gathered for a selfdescribed ”hardcore blues” recording under the group name of the New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers.

For more than 12 years that recording’s existence was mentioned only obscurely in interviews, and referenced as a great old-school recording by those few witnesses. It was done in one take off the floor over a couple of late nights, where they all sat in one big circle in the studio and played quietly amongst the microphones, taking turns singing out in the room and improvising on the spot. Despite the fact that Jim Dickinson finished production before his death in summer 2009, that album just hung out in the archives, waiting.

It is a testament to the great experience and talent of these esteemed performers that they could casually conjure a recording of this quality out of the ether this way. Sounding as if you are right there in the room with them with between-song banter and commentary, the classic structures of the Blues, being pulled together and teased apart by some of the most award-decorated members of the Blues Elite. This album crosses the generations of new BluesRockers and Classic Blues Statesmen.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required