Patrice Rushen – Straight From The Heart


In stock

SKU: 4062548005684 Categories: , , Tag:


Release Date: 2021

Label: Strut


Track List

  • 1 Forget Me Nots (Remastered)
  • 2 I Was Tired of Being Alone (Remastered)
  • 3 All We Need (Remastered)
  • 4 Number One (Instrumental) (Remastered)
  • 5 Where There Is Love (Remastered)
  • 6 Breakout! (Remastered)
  • 7 If Only (Remastered)
  • 8 Remind Me (Remastered)
  • 9 (She Will) Take You Down to Love (Remastered)
  • 10 Forget Me Nots (12 Version)
  • 11 Breakout! (12 Version)
  • 12 I Was Tired of Being Alone (12 Version)
  • 13 Number One (Instrumental) (12 Version)



The definitive edition of Patrice Rushen’s landmark album from 1982, ‘Straight From The Heart’.

Recorded during Elektra’s drive for ‘sophisticated dance music’ as many jazz artists created their own arrangements of disco and boogie, the sessions marked a progression for Patrice as she began exploring sonics as much as songwriting. “I was looking at different ways to experiment with the sounds on my records. Synths widened the palette available to us.”

Singles from the album included ‘Breakout!’, ‘Number One’ and the global hit ‘Forget Me Nots’. “Bassist Freddie Washington played the bassline during a jam at my family’s house. I caught it, we kept messing around with the groove, then I developed the lyrics and chorus. It was just about recognising that moment when it came up.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required