Paul Barbarin and the Onward Brass Band – Last Journey of a Jazzman


In stock


Release Date:  2007

Label:  Nobility Studios


Lester Santiago, famed New Orleans jazz pianist and composer, died on January 18th, 1965.

This album is a live recording, a documentary of that uniquely New Orleans tradition, the jazz funeral, a ceremony reserved for only the most esteemed among the New Orleans jazz community.

The recording was made by following the funeral procession through the streets of New Orleans. Songs performed included Just A Little While To Stay Here, What A Friend We Have In Jesus, Lead Me Savior and others.



  • Louis Barbarin – snare drum
  • Placide Adams – snare drum
  • Clement Tervalon – trombone
  • Worthia Thomas – trombone
  • Ernie Cagnolatti – trumpet
  • Albert Walters – trumpet
  • Avery “Kid” Howard – trumpet
  • Andrew Morgan – saxophone
  • Harold Dejan – saxophone
  • Joseph Thomas – clarinet
  • Minor Anderson – tuba
  • Joshua Willis – Mellophone
  • Paul Barbarin – snare drum

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required